ABOUT THE PROJECT

Implementation of PRTR in Kazakhstan: a joint project of UNITAR and the Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan

In 2016 in Kazakhstan started a joint project of UNITAR (United Nations Educational and Scientific Research Institute) and RSE for CEC “Information and Analytical Center for Environmental Protection” of the Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan “Global Project for the Implementation of the Pollutant Release and Transfer Register (PRTR) as an instrument for the reporting of Persistent Organic Pollutants, dissemination and raising awareness for the Republic of Kazakhstan “.

The purpose of the PRTR is to provide public access to information on releases and transfers of pollutants and wastes and indirectly contribute to reducing and preventing environmental degradation from pollution. PRTR is an environmental database of pollutants emitted into the atmosphere, discharged into water and soil and transported from a particular area.

The Protocol on PRTRs to the Aarhus Convention was adopted in 2003 and is mandatory. The document obliges the companies to publish information on emissions to the environment by 86 pollutants. Kazakhstan has not yet ratified the Protocol. However, individual elements of this system are being introduced in the country.

In 2016, the Environmental Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan was amended to introduce a state register of pollutant emissions and transfers. The rules for keeping the register are approved by the Order of the Acting Minister of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan from June 10, 2016 No. 241. The rules contain reporting forms for emissions, discharges and waste generation, according to which enterprises of the 1st category must report annually before April 1. Previously, PRTR reporting was carried out by Kazakh enterprises on a voluntary basis.

The aim of the project is to improve the access and accuracy of environmental data on POPs and other priority chemicals and to raise awareness and public participation on environmental issues through the introduction of a fully operational national PRTR.

At the same time, the project is being implemented in five other countries: Belarus, Cambodia, Ecuador, Moldova, Peru. The project will last until February 2019
The project provides for the study of international experience, improvement of the legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan in the part of PRTRs, development of methodological documents for the implementation of the PRTR Protocol, creation of an online reporting system. Within the framework of the project, a series of thematic trainings will be held for industrial enterprises, state bodies, the non-governmental sector and representatives of the media on PRTR implementation in Kazakhstan.

The work of the project covers the implementation of the Aarhus, Stockholm conventions and a number of other international documents on the management of chemicals and wastes.

To inform about the progress of the project was created several information resources, on which press releases about the work, current news and other information are posted:

https://www.facebook.com/prtr2016/?fref=ts
https://vk.com/public149303961
https://twitter.com/Prtr2016?lang=ru

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Внедрение РВПЗ в Казахстане: совместный проект ЮНИТАР и Министерства энергетики РК

В 2016 году в Казахстане стартовал совместный проект ЮНИТАР (Учебный и научно-исследовательский институт ООН) и РГП на ПХВ «Информационно-аналитический центр охраны окружающей среды» Министерства энергетики РК «Глобальный проект по реализации Регистра Выбросов и Переноса Загрязнителей (РВПЗ) в качестве инструмента для отчетности Стойких Органических Загрязнителей, распространение и повышение осведомленности для Республики Казахстан».

Цель РВПЗ – обеспечить доступ общественности к информации о выбросах и переносе загрязнителей и отходов и опосредованно способствовать снижению и предотвращению деградации окружающей среды от загрязнения. РВПЗ представляет собой экологическую базу данных загрязняющих веществ, выбрасываемых в атмосферу, сбрасываемых в воду и почву и переносимых с той или иной территории.

Протокол о РВПЗ к Орхусской Конвенции принят в 2003 году и носит обязательный характер. Документ обязывает компании публиковать информацию об эмиссиях в окружающую среду по 86 загрязнителям. Казахстан ещё не ратифицировал Протокол. Однако в стране внедряются отдельные элементы этой системы.

В 2016 году в Экологический Кодекс РК внесены дополнения о введении государственного регистра выбросов и переноса загрязнителей. Правила ведения регистра утверждены Приказом и.о. Министра энергетики РК от 10 июня 2016 г. № 241. Правила содержат формы отчетности по выбросам, сбросам и образованию отходов, по которым предприятия 1-ой категории должны отчитываться ежегодно до 1-го апреля. Ранее предоставление отчетности по РВПЗ осуществлялось казахстанскими предприятиями на добровольной основе.

Целью проекта является улучшение доступа и точности данных о состоянии окружающей среды по СОЗ и другим приоритетным химикатам и повышение осведомленности и участия общественности по экологическим вопросам, посредством внедрения полностью эксплуатационного национального РВПЗ.

Параллельно проект реализуется в пяти других странах: Беларуси, Камбоджи, Эквадоре, Молдове, Перу. Проект продлится до февраля 2019 года.

В ходе проекта предусмотрено изучение международного опыта, совершенствование законодательства РК в части РВПЗ, разработка методических документов для реализации Протокола РВПЗ, создание онлайновой системы отчетности.

В рамках проекта пройдет серия тематических тренингов для промышленных предприятий, государственных органов, неправительственного сектора и представителей СМИ по вопросам реализации РВПЗ в Казахстане.

Работа проекта охватывает деятельность по реализации Орхусской, Стокгольмской конвенций и ряда других международных документов по управлению химическими веществами и отходами.
Для информирования о ходе реализации проекта создано несколько информационных ресурсов, на которых размещаются пресс-релизы о проводимой работе, актуальные новости и другая информация:
https://www.facebook.com/prtr2016/?fref=ts
https://vk.com/public149303961
https://twitter.com/Prtr2016?lang=ru

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.