Current issues on emissions of pollutants and mercury into environment and on keeping a pollutant release and transfer register (PRTR) were discussed in Pavlodar. A workshop “Emission of polluting substances and mercury into environment: Methods for determination, inventory and inclusion in the State Pollutant Release and Transfer Register of the Republic of Kazakhstan” was held on November 12-13, 2018.

The workshop was organized by the Information and Analytical Center for Environmental Protection, the United Nations Development Program in Kazakhstan and the Center “Cooperation for Sustainable Development”.

The main objective of the workshop was to increase the capacity of specialists on PRTR and to formulate proposals for developing methodological support for PRTR implementation in Kazakhstan.

About 50 participants attended the workshop. Among the participants of the workshop were representatives of government agencies, non-governmental organizations, industrial enterprises, representatives of the Information and Analytical Center for Environmental Protection, the United Nations Development Program in Kazakhstan and the Center “Cooperation for Sustainable Development”.

At the workshop recommendations on the development of a system for controlling emissions of pollutants were discussed. Participants made suggestions on the main important aspects of implementing PRTR in Kazakhstan.

At the workshop the experts of Center “Cooperation for Sustainable Development” presented the EMEP and UNITAR methodologies for estimating emissions of heavy metals and unintentionally produced persistent organic pollutants into environment. These techniques were presented for discussion to the participants of the workshop. The UNDP national expert made a report on the current situation of mercury pollution in Kazakhstan, in particular, the positive and negative aspects of joining the Minamata Convention on mercury were considered.

A specialist of the RSE “Information and Analytical Center for Environmental Protection“ conducted a practical training in groups, where participants of the workshop (mainly, representatives of industrial enterprises) filled out online forms of PRTR reporting.

The participants examined ways to improve the PRTR reporting system and the possibilities for maximum public access to the system. During the discussions, participants made suggestions and recommendations for improving the structure and content of the electronic portal of PRTR.

All proposals made at the workshop will be reflected in the Minutes of the workshop and will be used further at implementation of the Project and at introducing PRTR in Kazakhstan

Актуальные вопросы по выбросам загрязняющих веществ и ртути в окружающую среду и ведению регистра выбросов и переноса загрязнителей (РВПЗ) обсудили в Павлодаре. 12-13 ноября 2018 года прошел семинар «Эмиссии загрязняющих веществ и ртути в окружающую среду: методы определения, инвентаризация и включение в государственный регистр выбросов и переноса загрязнителей Республики Казахстан».

Семинар был организован Информационно-аналитическим центром охраны окружающей среды, Программой развития ООН в Казахстане и Центром «Содействие устойчивому развитию».

Основной целью семинара являлось повышение потенциала специалистов по вопросу РВПЗ и формирование предложений для разработки методического обеспечения внедрения РВПЗ в Казахстане.

В работе семинара приняли участие около 50 человек. В числе участников семинара представители правительственных органов, неправительственных организаций, промышленные предприятия, представители Информационно-аналитического центра охраны окружающей среды, Программы развития ООН в Казахстане и Центра «Содействие устойчивому развитию».

В ходе семинара обсудили рекомендации по развитию системы регулирования эмиссий загрязняющих веществ. Участники высказались предложениями по основным важным аспектам реализации РВПЗ в Казахстане.

В рамках семинара сотрудниками Центра “Содействие устойчивому развитию” были представлены методология ЕМЕП и ЮНИТАР по оценке выбросов тяжелых металлов и непреднамеренно образующихся стойких органических загрязнителей в окружающую среду. Данные методики были презентованы участникам семинара и вынесены на обсуждение. Национальный эксперт ПРООН выступил с докладом по текущей ситуации по ртутному загрязнению в Казахстане, в частности, были рассмотрены положительные и отрицательные аспекты присоединения к Минаматской Конвенции по ртути.

Специалистом РГП на ПХВ “ИАЦ ООС” было проведено практическое занятие в группах, где участники семинара (в основном, представители промышленных предприятий) заполнили формы онлайн-отчетности по РВПЗ.

Слушатели рассмотрели пути совершенствования системы отчётности по РВПЗ и возможности максимального доступа общественности к системе. В рамках дискуссий участники высказали предложения и рекомендации по улучшению структуры и содержания электронного портала РВПЗ.

Все предложения, прозвучавшие в рамках семинара, найдут свое отражение в Протоколе семинара и будут использованы в дальнейшем при реализации Проекта и внедрении РВПЗ в Казахстане.