For many residents of our country, the term PRTR is not familiar. What does it mean and what is the use of its creation? What information should industrial enterprises provide for PRTRs? Who oversees his work?


We have prepared for you a series of information blocks that will tell you about the history of the term, the world practice and the steps taken by Kazakhstan to create the Register.


The idea of creating a Pollutant Release and Transfer Register first appeared in the United States after a tragic accident in India


This is the largest catastrophe for the entire development of the chemical industry. Thirty years ago, on the night of December 2, 1984, a terrible technogenic catastrophe occurred at the pesticide plant in the Indian city of Bhopal. The cause of the disaster to date has not been formally established. As a result of the reaction with 42 tons of isocyanic acid methyl ester, the temperature and pressure rose so much that a large amount of gas began to escape into the air with the content of methyl ether, phosgene, hydrogen cyanide and other chemicals.


A light wind with a speed of 5 km / h carried steam escaping from the reservoir. Because of the cool weather, a cloud of vapor spread over the ground. As a result, a lethal cloud up to 5 meters thick covered the urban areas of 40 square km. meters.


Local residents woke up with a feeling of heat in the throat and eyes. As a result, only in the first hours and days, about 4000 people died.


As a result of this disaster, not only people were affected. Irreversible damage was caused to the surrounding nature. Fields and roads were strewn with dead animals, even the buffalo giants could not stand it. Toxic gas completely destroyed the crop within a radius of 167 km. For a long time, the affected land remained barren.
Shortly thereafter, the United States Congress approved the Law on Emergency Planning and Public Information Law, which provides for the establishment of a register called the Toxic Emission Inventory (TOC), which allows the monitoring of emissions of more than 600 types of chemicals into the atmosphere, water, land and transport beyond Sites. Other countries, including Australia and Canada, followed suit and developed national PRTR systems.
Thanks to the toxic emissions inventory, the public has access to previously unreported information on pollutant emissions. At the same time, its creation was a powerful incentive for reporting entities to take voluntary measures to reduce pollutant emissions.


PRTR does not provide for direct regulation of emissions, putting pressure on companies seeking to avoid the reputation of large polluters. PRTRs encourage companies to invest in production to reduce emissions.
One of the main characteristics of a PRTR is public access to information that has a real impact on the prevention and reduction of environmental pollution.


In 1993, OECD member States and the United Nations provided the Secretary-General of the OECD with the mandate to prepare a manual for national governments interested in developing a pollutant release and transfer register. This manual was published in 1996.


Within the OECD, a task force was established to address the most complex aspects of the development of PRTR systems.


The OECD carried out this work in accordance with the recommendation of UNCED, in the framework of the Inter-Organization Program for the Sound Management of Chemicals.


The development and establishment of a national PRTR system allows governments to monitor the formation and release of pollutants, as well as the subsequent evolution of various pollutants over time. Following the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development, national PRTR systems have also been established in other countries.

Для многих жителей нашей страны не знаком термин РПВЗ. Что он означает и какова польза от его создания? Какую информацию должны предоставлять промышленные предприятия для РВПЗ? Кто курирует его работу?

Мы подготовили для вас серию информационных блоков, которые расскажут об истории возникновения данного термина, мировой практике и предпринимаемых Казахстаном шагах в создании Регистра.

Впервые идея создания Регистра выбросов и переноса загрязнителей возникла в Соединенных Штатах после трагической аварии в Индии.

Это самая крупная катастрофа за все время развития химической промышленности. Тридцать лет назад, в ночь на 2 декабря 1984 года, на заводе по производству пестицидов в индийском городе Бхопал произошла страшная техногенная катастрофа. Причина катастрофы до сегодняшнего дня официально не установлена. В результате реакции с 42 тоннами метилового эфира изоциановой кислоты температура и давление поднялись настолько, что в воздух начало выходить огромное количество газа с содержанием метилового эфира, фосгена, цианистого водорода и других химикатов.

Несильный ветер со скоростью 5 км/час понес вырвавшиеся из резервуара пары. Из-за прохладной погоды облако паров стелилось по земле. В результате смертоносное облако толщиной до 5 метров накрыло городские районы площадью 40 кв. км.

Местные жители просыпались от чувства жара в горле и глазах. В итоге лишь в первые часы и дни погибло около 4000 человек.

В результате этой катастрофы пострадали не только люди. Был нанесен невосполнимый урон окружающей природе. Поля и дороги были усыпаны погибшими животными, не выстояли даже великаны-буйволы. Токсичным газом был полностью уничтожен урожай в радиусе 167 км. Долгое время пораженная земля оставалась бесплодной.

Вскоре после этого Конгресс Соединенных Штатов одобрил Закон о планировании действий в чрезвычайных ситуациях и праве населения на информацию, предусматривающий создание регистра, названного Кадастром токсичных выбросов (КТВ), позволяющего отслеживать выбросы более 600 видов химических веществ в атмосферу, воду, землю и перенос за пределы участков. Другие страны, включая Австралию и Канаду, последовали этому примеру и разработали национальные системы РВПЗ.

Благодаря кадастру токсичных выбросов общественность получила доступ к ранее не представлявшейся информации о выбросах загрязняющих веществ. Наряду с этим его создание явилось мощным стимулом для представляющих отчетность объектов принять добровольные меры в целях сокращения выбросов загрязнителей.

РВПЗ не предусматривает прямого регулирования выбросов, оказания давление на компании, стремящиеся избежать репутации крупных загрязнителей. РВПЗ стимулирует компании к осуществлению инвестиций в производство для сокращения выбросов.

Одной из главных характеристик РВПЗ является доступ общественности к информации, которая оказывает реальное влияние на предотвращение и сокращение загрязнения окружающей среды.

В 1993 году государства – члены ОЭСР и Организация Объединенных Наций предоставили Генеральному секретарю ОЭСР мандат на подготовку руководства для национальных правительств, заинтересованных в создании регистра выбросов и переноса загрязнителей. Данное руководство было опубликовано в 1996 году.

В рамках ОЭСР была создана целевая группа для рассмотрения наиболее сложных аспектов создания систем РВПЗ.

ОЭСР провела эту работу в соответствии с рекомендацией ЮНСЕД, в рамках Межорганизационной программы по безопасному обращению с химическими веществами.

Разработка и создание национальной системы РВПЗ позволяет правительствам отслеживать образование и выбросы загрязняющих веществ, а также последующую эволюцию различных загрязняющих веществ во времени. После проведения Конференции ООН по окружающей среде и развитию в других странах также были созданы национальные системы РВПЗ.